Bloody hell David and Chris what a story!
I have made the desision to stop driving old cars on the road, period. This
was after my latest infringement notice for $500 for driving an unregistered
vehicle. The real shitter is that it is regoed on a ch permit. My problem
was, I was not aware that I am required to carry the permit in the car at
all times (no body told me and it is not written on the permit). I was not
doing anything stupid at the time so was not asking to be pulled over. The
1600 is not driven often, so as far as I can tell I was only pulled over in
the first place for driving a shabby looking datsun 1600.
I had the same problem with cops years ago always getting pulled over once
every 2 weeks for breatherliser and rego checks etc. Just so the could pick
shit out of something and get some money out of me.
My solution was to buy a Nissan Micra. In 4 years of driving 90 thou Km I
have not been pulled over for anything.
As for the $500 I have asked for pitty from Civic Compliance and even though
they have already stuffed up my application twice hopefully they will let me
off.
Not happy about everyones situation with the cops.
Trev
-----Original Message-----
From: David Costello [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: Wednesday, 13 September 2000 11:08
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: bastards
I feel sorry for you Chris
good luck with the insurance
the cop seems pretty eager to catch the culprit (perhaps a little over eager
by the sounds of it...blaming you like that)
my old ZL fairlaine was stolen about a year ago now, I went through 6 months
of court and night after night of lockups in the watch house with them
trying to blame the whole thing on me. They finally got the evidence they
needed and dropped the case against me (without the slightest hint of an
appology for what they put me through I might add). But because of the case
the insurance company refused to pay, and I am still to this day fighting
them in court for the money.
Dave
-----Original Message-----
From: Chris Halpin <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>;
[EMAIL PROTECTED] <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Date: Tuesday, 12 September 2000 10:10
Subject: bastards
>Well guys, it finally happened. My car was stolen today from my University
>carpark - yes the one with the big sign saying 'this carpark is under
>constant security supervision'. The f**king prick[s] did it at about
>2:00pm, Tuesday (Melbourne Time). The thing is, they didn't even get it
out
>of Clayton (I go to monash) before they spun out through a dog-leg bend
>going to fast (hugh skid marks) smashed the front into a telegraph pole,
>fucking the whole front, bonnet, grill, bumper, disaligning the whole front
>of the car, and pushing the fan right into the radiator. But wait, there's
>more - they then managed to spin the rear into a fence, knocking the fence
>over (brick) and totally crushing the rear quater pannel in, pushing the
>rear bumper into the body, and disaligning the whole rear (boot lid, door
>etc). Who knows what the did to the axles etc, but they are probably out
of
>alignment too. But hang on, that's not all. THey managed to take out the
>power/communications for that whole region for ages.
>
>While this is all happening, I'm still in classes at uni, so the cops phone
>home, and tell my parents that I've wrapped the car around a pole, and
can't
>be seen anywhere, sending my parents into 'shitting-themselves-mode' and
>traveling all over clayton and surrounding hospitals to see if they could
>find me. The wankers then come into my class at uni (around 300 people)
and
>tell me to come outside. THey had been given a description of a guy
running
>away from the scene, and even though it is obviously not me, continue to
>tell me that, 'it's a hoon's car, and that they expected to arrest me for
>crashing and leaving the crime (in not so little words), thinking that I
had
>crashed the car, and decided to leave it in the middle of the street to
>return to the lecture I was missing.
>
>The police then told me that I was not to toutch the car, because they
>wanted to fingerprint it, so I went to the place it was towed to, and they
>stuck a huge 'DEFECTIVE VEHICLE (Major box ticked)' sticker on it becasue
of
>the wheels (worn-ish tyres and sticking outside the guards by a few
>millimeters).
>
>Having a shit day at uni, and then finishing to find that your beloved
>6-month old and yet-to-be-pranged car had not only been stolen but most
>probably ritten off, and then called a hoon by some fuck-up of a cop whose
>never even seen me drive. Unbelievable. It's cops like that understanding
>bastard that give the police force such a great name - he could have just
>told me to get them fixed, and I would have done so!
>
>Well I guess I should stop feeling sorry for myself, and begin to play the
>waiting game, while I wait to find out whether I will get the insurance pay
>out or not........
>
>Chris 'I wish I could slit the fucker's throat who stole it' Halpin
>
>PS - sorry for the french.
>_________________________________________________________________________
>Get Your Private, Free E-mail from MSN Hotmail at http://www.hotmail.com.
>
>Share information about yourself, create your own public profile at
>http://profiles.msn.com.
>
>
--membersozdat-------------------------------------------------------
OZDAT Mailing List Please Note:-
Send (un)subscribe requests to [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Send submissions to [EMAIL PROTECTED]
No unauthorised redistribution of this email
http://www.ozdat.com/ozdatonline/index.htm
http://www.ozdat.com/ozdatonline/listindex.html
http://www.mail-archive.com/[email protected]/
---------------------------------------------------------------------