But it's more intuative to assume the imported file's location and 
format.  If you've imported a file and edited it, it's quite likely you 
will want to write the changes back out to that file.  If you want to 
write them somewhere else, it's easy to bring up the advanced export dialog.

Best regards,
Jeremy Morton (Jez)

On 30/06/2011 11:53, Alexia Death wrote:
> On Thu, Jun 30, 2011 at 1:34 PM, Jeremy Morton<ad...@game-point.net>  wrote:
>> My suggestion is that this only happen the *first* time the over presses
>> ctrl-E after importing and editing a file, though.  Subsequent presses
>> once the user has confirmed would overwrite without confirmation.  It's
>> just to avoid overwriting by accident.
> I would really hate it if Ctrl-E would overwrite after import even
> with confirmation. What I personally expect to happen is to have the
> export dialog pop up just as the save dialog does letting me CHOOSE
> what I want to do. At this point I can opt to overwrite, by selecting
> the original file or to save new file next to it. On subequent calls,
> the export would be silent. This is how save shortcut works. Dialog
> first, silent on next calls, if the file to be saved to is
> established. I find it extremely annoying that it does nothing and I
> need to reach for shift to get even the inital dialog.
Gimp-developer mailing list

Reply via email to