I don't understand your statement that OpenSolaris 2009.06 does not support 
sparse zone. I would appreciate if you could clarify what you meant by "We 
don't have sparse zones in 2009.06..."

I thought by using the commands "add inherit-pkg-dir", "set dir=/xxx" (for 
/lib, /platform, /sbin and /usr) would create so-called sparse-zones on 
OpenSolaris 2009.06. In fact, I have just successfully doen this a few mintues 

The difference between Solaris 10 and OpenSolaris is that, on Solaris 10 by 
using the "create" would automatically inherit all the 4 directories mentioned 
above, and by using "create -b" would create a "whole-root" zone. On 
OpenSolaris, however, by using "create" (without the -b option) would be 
creating whole-root zones as it does not inherit any directories from the 
global zones. It would be nice also if you could explain what is the rationale 
behind this difference. Thanks!
This message posted from opensolaris.org
zones-discuss mailing list

Reply via email to