Re: Admin Login Configuration

2008-09-16 Thread David Trowbridge
When you run './manage.py syncdb', it should ask you for a username and password for the admin. -David On Tue, Sep 16, 2008 at 2:18 PM, wex [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: Is there any log file I can examine to try and debug this admin login issue? On Sep 16, 2:06 pm, wex [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote:

Re: Admin Login Configuration

2008-09-16 Thread David Trowbridge
as to how to debug the hang I get with manage.py createsuperuser? I guess I'll keep paging through the Django docs... On Sep 16, 2:50 pm, David Trowbridge [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: When you run './manage.py syncdb', it should ask you for a username

Re: undo Ship It

2008-09-18 Thread David Trowbridge
This is tracked in issue 489. We've been trying to think of a good way to handle this case; for now, discussions work okay. -David On Thu, Sep 18, 2008 at 7:23 AM, Martin [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: Hi, How do you suggest to deal with the situation where person A marks the review as ship It

Re: PostgreSQL support

2008-09-22 Thread David Trowbridge
Review Board uses Django's database abstractions, so it should work fine. We've heard from a couple people who have deployed on top of pg, but MySQL is far more common. -David On Mon, Sep 22, 2008 at 1:40 PM, Juan Jose Comellas [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: Can ReviewBoard store its data on

Re: How to add another scmtool support?

2008-10-13 Thread David Trowbridge
Once it's working, we'll want to add it to the fixtures so people can easily select the repository type. Other than that, all you need to do is implement the SCMTool class. It's also useful to implement the client-side in post-review for most SCMs. Good luck, -David On Mon, Oct 13, 2008 at

Re: email notifications - questions and possible issue

2008-10-16 Thread David Trowbridge
We send emails on 1, 3 and 4. There's an open bug about 2, but no immediate ETA for fixing it. -David On Thu, Oct 16, 2008 at 7:01 AM, fts1050 [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: I was wondering what all the events that cause an email trigger. My guess would be: 1.)When a review goes live (to

Re: Upgrading issues

2008-10-16 Thread David Trowbridge
You need to upgrade your perforce API on the server to 07.3 or 08.1 -David On Thu, Oct 16, 2008 at 2:51 PM, AndyP [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: We've been running reviewboard now internally for 6 months or so now, and I was going to create a new server for a much wider audience. I made the

Re: Huge patch files

2008-10-29 Thread David Trowbridge
We made some improvements to the caching for this, but it's still extremely inefficient. We're tracking the problem as bug 692 (http://code.google.com/p/reviewboard/issues/detail?id=692) but haven't had time to fix it. -David On Wed, Oct 29, 2008 at 8:31 AM, H M [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: We

Re: headers for review groups in emails

2008-10-31 Thread David Trowbridge
The best thing to do would be do post a review request on http://reviews.review-board.org/ If you want to add unit tests before posting the review, that would be awesome. I think this is only really documented as the code reviews link under contributing on the web site. We really need to write

Re: Diff Cache

2008-11-10 Thread David Trowbridge
We did just that about a month ago. If you update your copies of djblets and reviewboard, you'll notice that subsequent views for large diffs are much, much better. -David On Mon, Nov 10, 2008 at 2:41 PM, Mike Lewis [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: Hi, I've been running review board for a few

LDAP authentication changes

2008-11-13 Thread David Trowbridge
FYI, in SVN revision r1573, I've committed the patch from http://reviews.review-board.org/r/634/ This generalizes the LDAP authentication scheme to work better with OpenLDAP. If you're using LDAP authentication, you'll have to update your settings: Your User Mask currently looks something like

Re: cache warning

2008-12-11 Thread David Trowbridge
Are you up to date with djblets too? -David On Thu, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:01 AM, TP tp...@datadomain.com wrote: Hi, I'm using the latest version of reviewboard and it should have the large data caching feature. But I keep getting this warning in the log WARNING - Failed to fetch large data

Re: memcache pre-warming

2008-12-22 Thread David Trowbridge
This is something we've been wanting to implement, but it's been lower priority than a lot of other things for 1.0. If you're interested in digging into the code, we'd love to see it done sooner. -David On 12/22/08, Nithin Sujir nithinsu...@gmail.com wrote: I am really loving the memcache

Re: reCaptcha...

2009-01-10 Thread David Trowbridge
I don't think anyone is using reCaptcha, but we also aren't a popular enough system to have had to deal with automated spambots. It's possible that at some time in the future we'll need to add captcha support. -David 2009/1/10 DeeJay1 lukasz.jer...@gmail.com: Hello. I've just installed

Re: Trophy causing problems

2009-01-19 Thread David Trowbridge
Any review request which is a number followed by zeroes (100, 2000, 3) gets a trophy. Any palindrome gets a fish trophy. -David On Mon, Jan 19, 2009 at 4:23 PM, Martin mkoeb...@gmail.com wrote: Hi Christian, thanks so much! I'll update our server first thing in the morning. How else

Re: post upgrade, screenshot uploading doesn't work

2009-02-02 Thread David Trowbridge
The old install procedure meant a lot of people ended up putting data in their site-packages. rb-site doesn't do that anymore. -David On Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 1:16 PM, Łukasz Jernaś lukasz.jer...@gmail.com wrote: On Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 9:12 PM, mary ciaom...@gmail.com wrote: Issue resolved.

Re: Using the demo

2009-02-17 Thread David Trowbridge
The demo server does point to the active SVN server. This is okay because review board never does any commits to version control. -David On Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 11:17 AM, Anthony Foglia afog...@princeton.com wrote: Thanks. I was aware of the tool, but not using it. My questions are more

Re: New user group

2009-02-18 Thread David Trowbridge
There's no automatic method right now. You might be able to write a script that uses the django shell capabilities to create the groups. -David 2009/2/17 KunalG kunal.gosw...@gmail.com: Hi, We are setting up review board in our company and found one feature which we need. We use LDAP

Re: How to take backup of RB server ?

2009-03-01 Thread David Trowbridge
I like using mysqlhotcopy to make an on-line copy of the database. -David On Sun, Mar 1, 2009 at 9:35 PM, Christian Hammond chip...@chipx86.com wrote: Sorry for the delay on this. I haven't been around much this weekend. Mainly, you'll need to backup the database files (you can use

Re: Feature request

2009-03-02 Thread David Trowbridge
We've been toying around with how best to do this for a while. Can you add your suggestions to http://code.google.com/p/reviewboard/issues/detail?id=294 ? This will help us keep track of them better. Thanks! -David On Mon, Mar 2, 2009 at 7:40 AM, Isaac Wagner geekyis...@gmail.com wrote: My

Re: Adding other files to Review request

2009-03-02 Thread David Trowbridge
Right now the only additional attachments we support uploading are screenshots (which really means images in general). In the future, we plan to make this more generic, but that won't happen for a while unless someone else does it. -David On Mon, Mar 2, 2009 at 10:45 PM, KunalG

Re: Rolling back to Alpha1

2009-03-06 Thread David Trowbridge
Perhaps we need to paginate the reviews page in addition to the diff? -David On Fri, Mar 6, 2009 at 2:03 PM, mary ciaom...@gmail.com wrote: Thank you for your reply. The slowness is: 1. page load takes several minutes (the more comments, the longer it takes) 2. typing a comment is very

Re: Reviewboard CMSynergy

2009-03-16 Thread David Trowbridge
We're happy to include support for any SCMs out there, but it's not realistic for us to implement support for cmsynergy or other SCMs that we don't have access to. If you or someone else were to submit a patch for a cmsynergy SCMTool, we'd be happy to include it. -David On Mon, Mar 16, 2009 at

Re: Reviewboard CMSynergy

2009-03-18 Thread David Trowbridge
. Are there any docs that I can refer to? --aditya On Tue, Mar 17, 2009 at 8:51 AM, David Trowbridge trowb...@gmail.com wrote: We're happy to include support for any SCMs out there, but it's not realistic for us to implement support for cmsynergy or other SCMs that we don't have access to. If you

Re: (djblets.datagrid) Static files

2009-03-28 Thread David Trowbridge
I'm not sure how changing the directory structure here would help you, and even if it does, it may hinder someone else. If you have something specific you need to do for your own application, feel free to modify the directory layout for your usage. That's what the MIT license is there for.

Re: Store large data in memcached

2009-04-02 Thread David Trowbridge
Hum. I thought we had worked around all of our cache size problems by splitting stuff up under multiple keys. What version are you running? -David On Thu, Apr 2, 2009 at 10:43 AM, Martin mkoeb...@gmail.com wrote: Thank you, I will try the memcache parameters. Swapping is not an issue for

Re: Scalability

2009-05-21 Thread David Trowbridge
At VMware, we have a couple thousand engineers working on a single server. Granted, I think it's a VM with 4GB of RAM and multiple vcpus, but it's still a single server. We've been addressing performance recently, and while it's pretty good, there's still more to do. MySQL isn't a big

Re: Scalability

2009-05-21 Thread David Trowbridge
PM, Alexey Morozov morozov...@ngs.ru wrote: Hi! On Thursday 21 May 2009 16:17:12 David Trowbridge wrote: At VMware, we have a couple thousand engineers working on a single server. Granted, I think it's a VM with 4GB of RAM and multiple vcpus, but it's still a single server. We've been

Re: Review Board crashed with the error Table is marked as crashed and should be repaired

2009-05-28 Thread David Trowbridge
If you're the administrator, you need to use the mysql administration programs to repair your DB. If you're not, you need to ask your admin. -David On Thu, May 28, 2009 at 4:44 PM, kunjal.par...@gmail.com kunjal.par...@gmail.com wrote: OperationalError at /dashboard/ (1194, Table

Re: Report application name to Perforce using -zprog?

2009-06-13 Thread David Trowbridge
I don't see any reason why we shouldn't do this. Accountability is a good thing. -David On Sat, Jun 13, 2009 at 8:41 PM, Paul Scottpsc...@vmware.com wrote: Hmm... I don't know about that. I mean, if you really wanted to try and stick unique identifiers in your p4 commands so you could track

Re: Creating reviews with screenshots only

2009-09-04 Thread David Trowbridge
It's not currently possible to not have a diff. In the past, we've just created a dummy diff and reviewed images as screenshots, which works but isn't great. This request is already tracked in issue 382, so if you have particular thoughts or needs, please add them there. Thanks, -David On

Re: Diffing SVN branches with post-review

2009-09-08 Thread David Trowbridge
When you created the branch, you added a numbered revision in the same paths as the branch that had the code that was on trunk. You can just do a revision-range post-review between that revision and your branch HEAD. If you truly want to diff between the current trunk and the branch, you can

Re: non-ASCII in comments

2009-09-15 Thread David Trowbridge
It sounds like maybe the tables aren't UTF-8. I don't recall off the top of my head how to change the charset of your tables, but I recall the mysql documentation on the topic being relatively helpful. -David On Mon, Sep 14, 2009 at 11:58 PM, Dmitry Konyshev dmitry.konys...@gmail.com wrote:

Re: Reviewboard taking a nap after 1.0.2 upgrade!

2009-09-16 Thread David Trowbridge
It looks like maybe Django got installed wrong? Can you remove the egg directory and try reinstalling it? -David On Wed, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:02 AM, grimbeaver tbrez...@gmail.com wrote: Anyone have any help at all on this?  I don't really want to reload the server because of this.  I'm using

Re: Settings not get saved (1.1 alpha 1)

2009-09-24 Thread David Trowbridge
This usually requires a web server restart. -David On Sep 24, 2009, at 8:00 AM, Deniz denizde...@gmail.com wrote: I have installed 1.1 alpha 1 to try Review Board. I try to change E- Mail settings but it does not get saved. Any idea? Thanks, Deniz

Re: ReviewBoard i18n

2009-11-11 Thread David Trowbridge
There are a couple of patches I should get in to mark additional strings and wire up tools, and then basically what will happen is that there will be 2 files in the PO template format which you can then translate strings into your target language. There's a handful of stuff that's not

Re: RB and Browser Compatibilty.

2009-12-01 Thread David Trowbridge
IE6 support is a little rocky, but IE7, IE8, and all similarly recent versions of firefox are supported. -David On Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 5:18 PM, Kunjal kunjal.par...@gmail.com wrote: We are on verge of rolling out RB 1.0.5 to 300+ developers. Some of our developers use IE and some of them use

Re: About Internationalization of Reviewboard

2010-01-11 Thread David Trowbridge
You can generate a PO file using ./manage.py makemessages -a from within the reviewboard tree. This will generate locale/en/django.po. I think that if there are more locales in the list, it will also generate PO files for those, too. To compile these into .mo catalogs, you can use ./manage.py

Re: Upgrading pygments

2010-01-27 Thread David Trowbridge
If the pygments interface hasn't changed (and I doubt it has), it should be fine. -David On Wed, Jan 27, 2010 at 5:52 AM, Bickford, Mark mark_bickf...@wrightexpress.com wrote: Hi, We are currently running RB 1.0.5.1.  Is it possible to just upgrade Pygments within it, to their 1.2.2

Re: Restricting access to Ship It checkbox

2010-02-03 Thread David Trowbridge
In general we've avoided adding this sort of permissions and policy, since it adds a lot of UI complexity for what is essentially a sociology problem. We have a bug open requesting some sort of general policy set-up (while we try to figure out what that means), but I'd recommend that this is

Re: Reviewboard and Konqueror issues

2010-02-10 Thread David Trowbridge
It sounds like various AJAX calls aren't working. A JavaScript debugger (like firebug) would hel figure out what's wrong but I don't know if konquerer has such a thing. -David On Feb 9, 2010, at 5:07 AM, daniel.j.la...@googlemail.com daniel.j.la...@googlemail.com wrote: All, I have

Re: Many projects in ReviewBoard.

2010-02-15 Thread David Trowbridge
Right now the only way to partition it this way is to run two separate servers. -David On Mon, Feb 15, 2010 at 7:08 AM, Jan Koprowski jan.koprow...@gmail.com wrote: Is there any opportunity to configure one ReviewBoard to many independent projects? For example two. There are two projects.

Re: accelerating of reviewboard

2010-03-03 Thread David Trowbridge
If you're not using memcached, that will be a huge gain. -David On Wed, Mar 3, 2010 at 3:37 PM, Christian Hammond chip...@chipx86.com wrote: A lot of what Review Board does is computationally expensive, and we've done a lot to heavily optimize things. Best way to get speedup is to run it on

Re: accelerating of reviewboard

2010-03-03 Thread David Trowbridge
I mean by setting up memcached, you'll get a dramatic boost in performance. -David On Mar 3, 2010, at 7:16 PM, JohnHenry qhlonl...@163.com wrote: Do you mean that using memcached will slow down the reviewboard? Best Regards! On 3月4日, 上午7时48分, David Trowbridge trowb...@gmail.com wrote

Re: About “close” of ReviewRequest

2010-03-08 Thread David Trowbridge
Close is done through the review_request_close view in webapi/json.py -David On Mon, Mar 8, 2010 at 1:22 AM, JohnHenry qhlonl...@163.com wrote: Hi,    We had a new requirement of 'close condition'. Only if all target reviewers had ship it this review, The submitter can 'close' this review

Re: Merging Two Separate ReviewBoard Instances

2010-04-08 Thread David Trowbridge
Nobody has done this, and I don't expect it would be easy. You'd have to write a script that could remap all the primary keys for each table to not conflict, except in the case where users overlap between instances. This would also have to update all foreign key relations. -David On Apr

Re: Groups

2010-04-12 Thread David Trowbridge
This already exists--in the Authentication settings, there's a check-box for Allow anonymous read-only access If you then configure RB with a special auth backend, it'll work. -David On Mon, Apr 12, 2010 at 3:25 AM, Stephen Gallagher step...@gallagherhome.com wrote: Christian, how much work

Re: DatabaseError: database disk image is malformed

2010-04-14 Thread David Trowbridge
Something caused your database to get corrupted (perhaps a system crash during an operation). The SQLite page has some scenarios at http://www.sqlite.org/lockingv3.html#how_to_corrupt but I'm not sure how to recover from it after it's happened. Using SQLite as a production database isn't really

Re: Marking a review as currently being reviewed

2010-05-26 Thread David Trowbridge
There aren't any better ways to do it, since this is kind of contrary to the use cases we had when building RB. I personally like it when more than one person looks at a review--more eyes means more bugs are caught early on. -David On Wed, May 26, 2010 at 6:57 AM, mnem purple.m...@gmail.com

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-10 Thread David Trowbridge
The reviews.reviewboard.org server is running under mysql. We've done a little tuning but not much. I haven't tried with pgsql at all, personally. -David On Jun 10, 2010, at 11:56 AM, Stephen Gallagher step...@gallagherhome.com wrote: Well, right now 4-8s for a page refresh is just

Re: Help on viewing diff

2010-06-23 Thread David Trowbridge
Click on the r4 in the top row of revision numbers, where it says Jump to revision: -David On Wed, Jun 23, 2010 at 1:48 AM, Amit agrawalamit2...@gmail.com wrote: Hi, I have posted four revising of my diff. Can somebody help me how to view final diff i.e. first file to latest one. I see

Re: red borders around punctuation characters

2010-06-24 Thread David Trowbridge
Probably pygments has the wrong idea about what type of file it is, and is highlighting what it thinks are errors. -David On Thu, Jun 24, 2010 at 4:41 PM, Gordon Morehouse gordon.moreho...@gmail.com wrote: When viewing diffs in Review Board, in some of the chunks I'm seeing punctuation

Re: The width of Files being diff'd is too wide in the IE browser sometime.

2010-07-23 Thread David Trowbridge
It's pretty unusual to have lines with *no* breakable characters, but we don't really have control over it. My personal solution for this is to use the browser's zoom feature to make the text smaller if a file doesn't fit. -David On Fri, Jul 23, 2010 at 1:55 PM, loc lon...@gmail.com wrote:

Re: Error uploading diff your review request still exists, but the diff file is not attached

2010-08-05 Thread David Trowbridge
Probably the best thing is to run post-review with --debug and the same arguments that the post-commit-hook is using, and see what the output is. -David On Thu, Aug 5, 2010 at 9:10 AM, ReviewBoard User lalitha.viswan...@gmail.com wrote: Hi I am trying to automate post-review on a RHEL4. Here

Re: ReviewBoard and TFS - working

2010-08-24 Thread David Trowbridge
This is an awesome article! I'm super impressed to see TFS working, even if it's by doing an end-run around TFS itself. Thanks so much for this detailed guide. -David On Tue, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:32 AM, Timothy Pinet tim.pi...@gmail.com wrote: Good afternoon, It has taken me some time but I

Re: Broke libsvn_client-1.so.0 after doing subversion source install

2010-09-22 Thread David Trowbridge
Probably the solution is to rebuild pysvn from source against your hand-installed subversion. -David On Wed, Sep 22, 2010 at 10:11 AM, Jamie jgwat...@teldio.com wrote: I have a Centos 5.1 system which was setup with Reviewboard 1.0.9 and Subversion 1.4.1. I recently had to upgrade to

Re: non technical question

2010-09-23 Thread David Trowbridge
Feel free to email us directly: trowb...@gmail.com chip...@chipx86.com -David On Thu, Sep 23, 2010 at 2:58 PM, Ran Tavory ran...@gmail.com wrote: Hi, how may I approach David and Christian with a non technical question, sort of more of a business related question? Thanks -- /Ran --

Re: Review Board 1.5 RC 2 is released

2010-09-25 Thread David Trowbridge
There's always http://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/686/ , which is almost 2 years old :) -David On Sat, Sep 25, 2010 at 8:56 PM, Christian Hammond chip...@chipx86.com wrote: Thanks Daryl, I'm glad it's not a release-stopping bug, but we should do some validation to make sure the path entered

Re: [ReviewBoard 1.5] RC1 to RC3 upgrade communication explenation

2010-09-29 Thread David Trowbridge
Speaking of which. Is 1.5 RC3 (dev) coming off the release-1.5.x branch or master? -David On Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 11:28 PM, Christian Hammond chip...@chipx86.com wrote: The randpool thing is just a warning from a third party library. You can ignore it. It shouldn't cause any problems, and is

Re: Can't see repository when creating review in web ui

2010-10-04 Thread David Trowbridge
What kind of repository are you using? Have you installed all the necessary dependencies? -David On Mon, Oct 4, 2010 at 4:03 AM, Paresh paresh...@gmail.com wrote: Hi I've just installed ReviewBoard with the intention of using it with Trac (http://trac.edgewall.org/) our bug tracking

Re: Seg fault in httpd w/RB 1.0.9 on SLES 10.3

2010-10-05 Thread David Trowbridge
I'm glad you figured it out! As far as what to do now, from what I've heard, the future is more likely to involve wsgi than fastcgi. I think it's a little better with regards to memory leaks, too. -David On Tue, Oct 5, 2010 at 9:43 PM, mxbraun matthew.br...@intel.com wrote: 5) Anyone have

Re: Review status feature

2010-11-01 Thread David Trowbridge
Do you want this for tracking purposes? At the moment, individual reviewers can mark their approval with the ship it flag, though there's no policy built around this (it won't prevent a checkin if you don't have one or more ship-its, for example). Other than that, we generally rely on people

Re: post-review can not set summary, group or people

2010-12-02 Thread David Trowbridge
Huh, that sounds wrong. If that's truly the case, we should have a bug about it. -David On Thu, Dec 2, 2010 at 11:12 AM, Jan Koprowski jan.koprow...@gmail.comwrote: If I remember draft doesn't show fields passed as post-review command line parameters but they present and after publish You

Re: UCOSP 2010 Project Screencasts

2010-12-11 Thread David Trowbridge
I would also like to extend my congratulations and thanks to the six students who participated this semester. Great work, everyone! -David On Sat, Dec 11, 2010 at 10:16 PM, Christian Hammond chip...@chipx86.comwrote: Hi everyone, We participated this past four months in UCOSP (Undergraduate

Re: want to see diffs side-by-side on one screen witthout having to use the slider

2010-12-20 Thread David Trowbridge
I'm not sure what you mean by whitespace. Can you include a screenshot? -David On Mon, Dec 20, 2010 at 2:54 PM, twhalen trwha...@sympatico.ca wrote: Hi - is it possible to do this? I'm new to RB. Currently I see lots of whitespace between the 2 sides vertically, and would like to know if I

Re: want to see diffs side-by-side on one screen witthout having to use the slider

2010-12-20 Thread David Trowbridge
to more easily compare the lines from each file. Unfortunately I can't provide a screenshot, since it's a customer's code... Thanks for your help. On Dec 20, 6:08 pm, David Trowbridge trowb...@gmail.com wrote: I'm not sure what you mean by whitespace. Can you include a screenshot? -David

Re: Help troubleshooting Error uploading diff

2010-12-28 Thread David Trowbridge
I would suggest starting by adding --debug to your post-review command line and checking the output there. -David On Tue, Dec 28, 2010 at 3:09 PM, Hank hank@gmail.com wrote: Hi. I'm trying to use ReviewBoard 1.5.1 with git via the Raw File mask. I've added the repo, and it was

Re: Module / Component wise REview request

2010-12-28 Thread David Trowbridge
There's nothing to automatically add anything other than reviewers and groups. Some users will have a group per module and then use the default reviewers feature for that. Other than that the best I can suggest right now is to encourage people to use descriptive summaries. -David On Tue, Dec

Re: Send reminder mails to reviewers who have not responded after fixed time.

2011-01-12 Thread David Trowbridge
There's nothing yet to do this automatically. What most people do is to just add a review to their own change with some kind of ping message. I personally prefer this solution because different changes often have different priorities, and people already get quite a bit of email from review board.

Re: after code review, i can not submit code to svn repository

2011-01-12 Thread David Trowbridge
Review Board does not automatically submit code for you. What's expected is that you'll commit your code as you have always done, and close - submitted is just a way of marking the review request as being done because the code is committed (as opposed to closing because the change was

Re: Fine-tuning email settings

2011-01-19 Thread David Trowbridge
There's no fine-grained control of this. Review Board should send email whenever anyone clicks publish, whether it's on a review or a reply to a review. If the latter isn't working, it's possible something is broken. Can you check your httpd logs and see if there are any errors in there? -David

Re: Fine-tuning email settings

2011-01-22 Thread David Trowbridge
if one of the addresses is blank. There's no reason why any of our accounts should need email addresses, as the emails go out to a mailing list. Yes, it wants to populate the 'from' field, but why not just fallback to the domain's reviewboard email address? On Jan 19, 3:04 pm, David Trowbridge

Re: Bugzilla URL gets mangled

2011-02-25 Thread David Trowbridge
The string you put in has quotation marks around the %s, so it'll continue to have quotation marks once it's formatted. If you get rid of them in your format string, everything should work. Sorry if the documentation was unclear about that. -David On Thu, Feb 24, 2011 at 10:50 PM, Vivek

Re: Updating bugzilla bugs

2011-03-09 Thread David Trowbridge
If you're running through apache, you'll have to at least do a reload (which is like a restart but it just reloads its configuration). If it's not obvious how to do that, then a restart will also work. It's usually easier to use django's built-in web server while making code changes, because it

Re: MultipleObjectsReturned: get() returned more than one ReviewRequest

2011-03-14 Thread David Trowbridge
This is a bug in the creation form. Please file a bug on our bug-tracker and we'll get a fix in the next point release. Thanks, -David On Mon, Mar 14, 2011 at 4:51 PM, Michael Milbrath m.milbr...@gmail.comwrote: I've seen a couple errors similar to the following occur in the last couple of

Re: Reviewing diffs of large merges

2011-03-15 Thread David Trowbridge
Review Board can deal with large diffs, but I don't think there's really much in the way of helping reviewers deal with it. The only help I can think of is that it will split it across pages in order to avoid having giant web pages to look at (by default 20 files to a page). If there are specific

Re: Customization of Review Board?

2011-04-07 Thread David Trowbridge
These two items are already possible through Review Board's settings page. See http://www.reviewboard.org/docs/manual/1.5/admin/admin-ui/authentication-settings/ for details on the Allow anonymous read-only access and Enable registration settings. -David On Thu, Apr 7, 2011 at 9:43 AM, Aki

Re: Customization of Review Board?

2011-04-12 Thread David Trowbridge
. On Fri, Apr 8, 2011 at 2:49 AM, David Trowbridge trowb...@gmail.comwrote: These two items are already possible through Review Board's settings page. See http://www.reviewboard.org/docs/manual/1.5/admin/admin-ui/authentication-settings/ for details on the Allow anonymous read-only access

Re: Automated merge after review continuous integration

2011-04-20 Thread David Trowbridge
#2 would be great; I know a lot of people have requested the ability to have some indication that the patch submitted will (a) apply cleanly and (b) build (maybe even including automated testing). #1 is often requested, but it's something which we've been wary of because of the complexities of

Re: Code block functionality in comment posts

2011-05-04 Thread David Trowbridge
Thanks for the feedback! Can you clarify what you mean by ability to format fixed-width blocks of code? -David On Wed, May 4, 2011 at 7:29 AM, Stephen Tyree tyree...@gmail.com wrote: Hello all, I've been using ReviewBoard for over a year now, and the only thing I find a lacking from a

Re: Want to add href in line comments

2011-05-11 Thread David Trowbridge
There's no way to add a link with inline text, like that. However, if you just include the link itself in the comment, it should be turned into a hyperlink. Most people do it like this: blah blah comment, see http://test for info. -David On Wed, May 11, 2011 at 6:02 AM, shilpageo

Re: Review Submitter Field Out of Whack

2011-05-11 Thread David Trowbridge
I don't know how hg postreview works, but at some point it calls post-review, correct? I think it would need to be modified to use --submit-as to suit your case. - David On May 10, 2011, at 4:40 PM, Jeffrey Reynolds jeffrey.james.reyno...@gmail.com wrote: Howdy all, I'm posting here

Re: Upgrading a site does not work

2011-05-28 Thread David Trowbridge
You may need to tell the web server to restart in order for it to reload the code. - David On May 28, 2011, at 4:43 PM, André Hänsel an...@webkr.de wrote: Hi, I wanted to call a script when a review is marked as submitted. According to

Re: Number of review requests shows up some numbers even though I have cleared all the review requests from the Database

2011-06-27 Thread David Trowbridge
These numbers are kept in the Local Site Profiles table. They used to be computed on the fly, but it was a pretty serious performance impact so now we cache them. If you go to Admin Database Local Site Profiles, you can delete them safely, and they'll be recreated with zeroes. -David On Mon,

Re: ReviewBoard publish model results in large quantity of email traffic

2011-06-30 Thread David Trowbridge
We've been aware of this since the beginning, and while we're trying to figure out a solution that doesn't break threading, at the moment there's really not much you can do other than filtering on the client side. There are a handful of headers that we insert into emails to help with this. -David

Re: Phasing out repositories with incorrect paths

2011-07-12 Thread David Trowbridge
The best way to do this is to leave the repository objects there, and just turn off the show check-box in the admin. This will remove it from the UI but leave existing review requests unaffected. -David On Tue, Jul 12, 2011 at 5:22 PM, Charlie Hsu vmdx.d...@gmail.com wrote: Hello, We are

Re: Search not enabled on Ubuntu Server 11.04

2011-07-28 Thread David Trowbridge
Are you running in apache? Have you restarted/reloaded the httpd after installing pylucene? - David On Jul 28, 2011, at 6:44 AM, Matthew Blair mpbl...@gmail.com wrote: Greetings, I installed ReviewBoard 1.5.5 on Ubuntu Server 11.04, including the step to install the PyLucene package.

Re: Perforce - SVN

2011-08-03 Thread David Trowbridge
It's entirely possible. The best way to do this is to leave existing items as-is, and add a new Repository for the SVN server. -David On Wed, Aug 3, 2011 at 3:54 PM, Christopher Hahn xrz1...@gmail.com wrote: Hello, My team is moving from Perforce to SVN and I must prepare for keeping RB

Re: Password recovery

2011-08-25 Thread David Trowbridge
Make sure to change the sender e-mail address field in Admin Settings E-Mail. -David On Thu, Aug 25, 2011 at 3:41 PM, NIck cryp...@gmail.com wrote: It does not appear the issue was resolved. I'm experiencing the exact same problem. I'm running Review Board 1.5.5 on CentOS 6. The rest of

Re: Method names in condensed diff view - I love you all

2011-09-14 Thread David Trowbridge
We love you too! Happy reviewing, -David On Wed, Sep 14, 2011 at 2:02 AM, Matthew Flint m...@tthew.org wrote: Hey, We just upgraded ReviewBoard, and I see there are now method names shown even when that part of the file is hidden. It is brilliant. I love you all. Matthew -- Want to

Re: review a new file

2011-09-24 Thread David Trowbridge
By virtue of adding the file, you're creating a change that can be expressed via a diff. `cvs diff -Nu` will create a diff that includes newly-added files that reviewboard can understand (though of course, we recommend using post-review, which will just do that for you). -David On Sat, Sep 24,

Re: ship-it - Is there any way to enable it only for a certain set of users?

2011-09-25 Thread David Trowbridge
We do not currently assign any sort of policy in this regard. If you wanted, you could write a hook script for your version control that used the REST API in order to check that a review request has a ship-it from the relevant people before a change is committed. -David On Sun, Sep 25, 2011

Re: Query on Authorization in reviewboard

2011-09-27 Thread David Trowbridge
Access control can be enabled on a per-group or per-repository level. See these documentation pages for detail: http://www.reviewboard.org/docs/manual/1.6/admin/configuration/repositories/#access-control http://www.reviewboard.org/docs/manual/1.6/admin/configuration/review-groups/#access-control

Re: Make svn commit via reviewboard UI

2011-09-28 Thread David Trowbridge
Review Board never writes to your repository. Developers still have to commit code using 'svn commit' -David On Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 10:24 AM, Bing Hua jasoninelmstr...@gmail.com wrote: Hi, I've set up reviewboard and trying to use it on a small project. The question is, is there a way to

Re: metric collection - number of comments

2011-09-28 Thread David Trowbridge
There's nothing built-in. If you only care about simple counts, you could probably write something using the REST API pretty easily. -David On Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 7:29 AM, Gyanesh Singh gyanesh.si...@gmail.com wrote: Hi, Is there any way one can collect some basic kind of metrics, e.g

Re: Is Review Board mostly useful in offline code review?

2011-09-29 Thread David Trowbridge
You could use it for either. It's maybe not perfect during a meeting but it does mean that you have a full record of all the comments. -David On Thu, Sep 29, 2011 at 10:49 AM, Nelson Jones huawen@gmail.com wrote: Is it overkill if used for  meeting type code review (face to face code

Re: Review Board at scale

2011-10-06 Thread David Trowbridge
When configured correctly, review board should easily handle that. The largest deployment I know of has 4000 users and over 27 review requests on a single 4-CPU system with 4G of RAM. Do you have memcached configured? - David On Oct 6, 2011, at 12:14 PM, Tucker j...@gmail.com wrote:

Re: Submitted review requests.

2011-10-17 Thread David Trowbridge
Reviews can always be added, even if the request is marked as submitted or discarded. This is intentional, since someone may want to point out something after the author has submitted their change to version control. -David On Mon, Oct 17, 2011 at 9:22 PM, Gyanesh Singh gyanesh.si...@gmail.com

Re: Submitted Reviews

2011-10-19 Thread David Trowbridge
There's currently an open bug about this: http://code.google.com/p/reviewboard/issues/detail?id=1436 The best I can suggest right now is to make the user not inactive but change the password in the admin. -David On Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 10:43 AM, J Terence Crump jtcrum...@gmail.com wrote: We

Re: Add Perforce repository error

2011-10-25 Thread David Trowbridge
You'll have to check your web server logs for the full error, but my guess is that p4python is not correctly installed. -David On Tue, Oct 25, 2011 at 9:50 PM, thegreendroid shreyasbhar...@gmail.com wrote: Hi there, I am trying to add a new Perforce repository in the Reviewboard Admin

  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   >